Welcome

Dear Friends,

Warm greetings from God's Own Country and KAN, the Kerala Association of Neurologists.

It’s Monsoon Summit time again, and once more we hope to bring you the best conference ever. The COVID pandemic has been a challenging time, and we had serious doubts whether to go ahead with this project at all. But given the enthusiasm of our members, we realized we needed to put the show together, most of all to maintain a tradition, and continuity.

Given the limitations of travel and safety, we are forced to have a Web based conference. However, we hope to make this a unique experience in every way for all the participants.

This format has the advantage of being able to get the best speakers from all over the world without the need for their physical presence at the venue. Moreover, we preserve the “conference feeling” as we have access to our delegates and experts from across the globe, for our “post talk interaction”. The speakers have promised to be available for a live discussion during this time.

Our academic committee has brought together a faculty which has some of the greatest authorities in the neurological sub specialities.

For the postgraduates and our colleagues, we offer a prestigious platform to showcase their work as Free papers and Poster presentations carrying attractive prizes as well.

We hope to take this conference to a different level altogether, in keeping with our tradition in KAN of bringing to you programs, which have always set a benchmark for their academic and organizational excellence.

We look forward to hosting you, come July, for Monsoon Summit 2021- The 3rd International Neurology Update.

Warm regards
The Organizing Committee,
Monsoon Summit 2021

Faculty

Dr Alberto J Espay

Professor of Neurology,
University of Cincinnati,
Cincinnati, USA

Dr Anu Jacob

Director, Multiple sclerosis and
Autoimmune Neurology,
Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi,
Abu Dhabi, UAE

Dr Bijoy K Menon

Associate Professor
University Of Calgary,
Calgary, Canada

Dr Daniel Mandell

Associate Professor and Head
of Neuroradiology,
Western Toronto Hospital,
Toronto, Canada

Dr Eelco Wijdicks

Professor of Neurology,
Director of Critical Care Neurology,
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Dr Gavin Giovannoni

Blizard Institute, Barts and London
School of Medicine and Dentistry,
London, UK

Dr Jaideep Kapur

Professsor of neurology
and Director of UVA
Neuroscience centre,
Charlottesville, USA

Dr Jeffrey A Cohen

Mellen Center for Multiple Sclerosis
Treatment and Research
Cleveland Clinic,
Ohio, USA

Dr K. Ray Chaudhuri

Clinical Director,
Parkinson Foundation Centre for
Excellence Kings College,
London, UK

Dr Sandor Beniczky

Professor of Neurology
Aarhus University,
Aarhus, Denmark

Dr Simon Shorvon

Consultant in Neurology, Professor in Clinical Neurology,
National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery, UCL Queen Square Inst of Neurology.
Queen Square. London. UK

Dr Stephan Sunaert

Professor of Radiology,
University of Leuven,
Leuven,Belgium

Dr Sylvian Lanthier

Associate Professor
University of Montreal,
Montreal, Canada

Dr Urs Fischer

Professor of Neurology,
University of Bern,
Bern, Switzerland

Committee

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Dr. P. C. Gilvaz

Chairman

Dr. K.P. Vinayan

Secretary

Dr. Haridas V. T

Treasurer

Dr. P. N. Sylaja

Chairman,
Scientific Committee

Dr. Bobby Varkey

Convenor,
Scientific Committee

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Dr. P. C. Gilvaz

Chairman

Dr. K.P. Vinayan

Secretary

Dr. Haridas V. T

Treasurer

Dr. P. N. Sylaja

Chairman,
Scientific Committee

Dr. Bobby Varkey

Convenor,
Scientific Committee

Advisory Committee

Dr. Mathew Abraham
Dr. Pradeep Kumar V.G
Dr. Reji Paul
Dr. Suresh Kumar R

KERALA ASSOCIATION OF NEUROLOGISTS

Dr. Mohanan N

President

Dr. Nirmal Raj

President Elect

Dr. Thomas Iype

Immediate Past President

Dr. Suresh Chandran

Secretary

Dr. Krishna Das N. C

Treasurer

KERALA ASSOCIATION OF NEUROLOGISTS

Dr. Mohanan N

President

Dr. Nirmal Raj

President Elect

Dr. Thomas Iype

Immediate Past President

Dr. Suresh Chandran

Secretary

Dr. Krishna Das N. C

Treasurer

Executive Committee

Dr. Ajith Cherian
Dr. Bobby Varkey
Dr. Fiju Chacko
Dr. Firosh Khan
Dr. Gilvaz P. C
Dr. Haridas V. T
Dr. Mathew Jose
Dr. Mini S
Dr. Narayanan Unni C
Dr. Parameswaran K
Dr. Pradeep Kumar V.G
Dr. Ravi V. T
Dr. Reji Paul
Dr. Reji Thomas
Dr. Shaji C. V
Dr. Sujith Ovallath
Dr. Ummer K Mehden
Dr. Vinayan K. P

Scientific Program

KAN Monsoon Summit 2021

Day 1

Friday, 9 July 2021

Speaker Topic Time

Prof. Dr. Jaideep Kapur

Eugene Meyer III Professor
of Neuroscience, Professor of
Neurology & Director of UVA
Brain Institute

KAN Oration

Status epilepticus

7:30 PM IST
(9:00 AM EST)

Day 2

Saturday, 10 July 2021

Session time: 2:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Speaker Topic Time

Prof. Dr. Gavin Giovannoni

Blizard Institute,
Barts and the London School of
Medicine and Dentistry, London

1st Topic: Rational choice of DMTs in relapsing MS

2:00 PM - 2:30 PM IST
(8:30 AM - 9:00 AM GMT)

2nd Topic: Progressive MS-Diagnosis and treatment

2:30 PM - 3:00 PM IST
(9:00 AM - 9:30 AM GMT)

Prof. Dr. K Ray Chaudhuri

Professor of Movement Disorders,
Kings College, London

Non-motor Symptoms of
Parkinsons Disease

3:00 PM - 3:30 PM IST
(9:30 AM - 10:00 AM GMT)

Dr. Urs Firscher

Professor of Neurology, University of Bern,
Bern, Switzerland

1st Topic: Intravenous thrombolysis:
on- and off label treatment

3:30 PM - 4:00 PM IST
(11:00 AM - 11:30 AM CET)

2nd Topic: When to Start Anticoagulation After cardioembolic stroke

4:00 PM - 4:30 PM IST
(11:30 AM - 12 noon CET)

Tea Break 4:30 PM- 5:00 PM

Prof. Dr. Anu Jacob

Director of Multiple sclerosis
and Autoimmune Neurology,
Cleveland Clinic, Dubai,
United Arab Emirates

NMOSD MOGAD in 2021

5:00 PM - 5:30 PM IST
(3:30 PM - 4:00 PM GST)

Prof. Dr.Eelco Wijdicks

Director of Neurocritical care,
Mayo clinic, Rochester,
United States

1st Topic: Prognosticators of post resuscitation coma

5:30 PM - 6:00 PM IST
(7:00 AM - 7:30 AM EST)

2nd Topic: Difficult decisions in ICH

6:00 PM - 6:30 PM IST
(7:30 AM - 8:00 AM EST)

Dr Bejoy Menon

Associate Professor
Department of Clinical
Neurosciences,
University of Calgary, Canada

Advances in acute stroke imaging

6:30 PM - 7:00 PM IST
(6:00 AM - 6:30 AM MST)

Dr Simon Shorvon

Consultant in Neurology and Professor in Clinical Neurology
National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery & UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology.
Queen Square. London. UK

Satellite Symposium:
"Choosing a first line drug for epilepsy after SANAD II"

7:00 PM - 8:00 PM IST
(1:30 PM - 2:30 PM GMT)

Day 3

Sunday, 11 July 2021

Session time: 3:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Speaker Topic Time

Prof. Dr. Sandor Beniczky

Head of Clinical
Neurophysiology Department,
Danish Epilepsy Centre,
Aarhus University, Denmark

1st Topic: Diagnosis of nonconvulsive
status epilepticus

3:00 PM - 3:30 PM IST
(10:30 AM - 11:00 AM CET)

2nd Topic: Electrical source imaging
in epilepsy

3:30 PM - 4:00 PM IST
(11:00 AM - 11:30 AM)

Prof. Dr. Stefan Sunaert

Professor of Radiology,
University of Leuven, Belgium

Functional MRI in clinical Neurology

4:00 PM - 4:30 PM IST
(11:30 AM - 12 noon CET)

Prof. Dr. Daniel Mandell

Associate Professor and Head of
Neuroradiology, Western Toronto
Hospital, Canada

MRVWI - Approach and pitfalls

4:30 PM - 5:00 PM IST
(6:00 AM - 6:30 AM EST)

Tea Break 5:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Prof. Dr. Alberto J Espay

Professor of Neurology,
UC College of Medicine,
Director and Endowed Chair of
the James J. and Joan A. Gardner
Family Center for Parkinsons
Disease and Movement Disorders,
University of Cincinnati,
United States

1st Topic: Pearls and Pitfalls in the
treatment of selected
movement disorders:
A Case-based Approach

5:30 PM - 6:00 PM IST
(7:00 AM - 7:30 AM EST)

2nd Topic: Myoclonus evaluation

6:00 PM - 6:30 PM IST
(7:30 AM - 8:00 AM EST)

Prof. Dr. Sylvain Lanthier

Associate Professor,
University of Montreal, Canada

Primary angiitis of the central nervous
system-diagnosis and treatment

6:30 PM - 7:00 PM IST
(8:00 AM - 8:30 AM EST)

Dr Jeffrey Cohen

Mellen Center for Multiple Sclerosis
Treatment and Research,
Cleveland Clinic, Ohio,
United States

1st Topic: Is it time to revise the
McDonald diagnostic criteria
and disease course categories
in multiple sclerosis?

7:00 PM - 7:30 PM IST
(8:30 AM - 9:00 AM EST)

2nd Topic: Hematopoietic stem
cell transplantation to
treat multiple sclerosis

7:30 PM - 8:00 PM IST
(9:00 AM - 9:30 AM EST)

Registration

Category

Early Bird

31st May 2021

Regular

30th June 2021

Spot

1st July 2021 Onwards

Consultant

Rs. 2000/-

Rs. 4000/-

Rs. 5000/-

PG Students / Residents

Rs. 1500/-

Rs. 2500/-

Rs. 3500/-

Please Note: * GST & other applicable government taxes will be added to the above registraton fee.

Abstract

Guideline for abstract submission for Platform / Poster Presentation
  • Registration for conference is a prerequisite for platform/Poster presentation.
  • The word limit for the abstract is 250.
  • The first name in each abstract should be that of the presenting author. Submission of more than one abstract by the same first author is not permitted.
  • Delegates will have to register to submit abstract.
  • No communications through post is entertained.
  • The scientific committee reserves the right of accepting / rejecting any abstracts without assigning any reason thereof.

In the Past

EMINENT SPEAKERS FROM 2017

Prof. Kailash Bhatia

Professor of Clinical Neurology and Movement Disorders, UCL Institute of Neurology

Prof. Peter Goadsby

Professor of Neurology, Kings College

Prof. Helen Cross

Prince of Wales Chair of Childhood Epilepsy, University College, Secretary General, ILAE

Prof. Solomon Moshe

Charles Frost Chair in Neurology, Albert Einstein College Of Medicine

Dr. Ahsan Moosa

Epilepsy Center, Cleaveland Clinic

Prof. Mayank Goyal

Departtment of Radiology & Clinical Neuro Sciences, University of Calgary

Prof. Pooja Khatri

Professor of Neurology University of Cicinatti, Director, Acute-Stroke Research U.C Stroke Team

Prof. Russel Dale

Professor of Paediatric Neurology, University of Sydney

Dr. Jalesh Panicker

Consultant Neurologist In Uro-Neurology Insitute UCl Institute of Neurology

Prof. Sajju Jacob

Consultant Neurologist Queen Elizabeth Neuroscience Center, University Hospital of Bermingham

EMINENT SPEAKERS FROM 2019

Dr. Sakkubai Naidu

Professor Department of Neurogeneties, Kennedy Kriegar Institute

Dr. Jo Wilmshurst

Head of Pediatric Neurology Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital, University of Cape Town

Dr. Madhav Thambishetty

Adjunct Professor of Neurology Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Baltimore

Dr. Bindu Sankaran

T.Y. Nelson Department of Neurology, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead

Dr. Thorsten Steiner

Professor of Neurology Head of the Department of Neurology Frankfurt - Hochst Hospital

Dr. Sam Wiebe

President, International League against Epilepsy Director, Clinical Research Unit Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary

Dr. Halinder Singh Mangat

Adjunct Professor, Department of Neurology Weill Cornell Medical College

Dr. Richard Ian Webster

Head of Department, T.Y. Nelson Department of Neurology, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead

Dr. Rima Nabbout

Professor of Pediatric Neurology Coordinator of the reference Center Epilepsies Rare, Necker Hospital Sick Children, Paris Descartes University

Dr. Thomas Sejersen

Professor of Pediatric Neurology Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation. Karolinska Institute, Karolinska University Hospital

Dr. Lea Kueppers-Tiedt

Department of Neurology, Klinikum Frankfurt HSchst

Dr. Carsten Bonnemann

Senior Investigator, Neuromuscular and Neurogenetic Disorders of Childhood Section Porter Neuroscience Research Center

Dr. Enrico Bertini

Unit of Neuromuscular and Neurodegenerative Disorders Labratory of Molecular Medicine Department of Neurosciences Bambino Gesu’ Children’s Hospital IRCCS

Dr. Anne Felicia Ambrose

Associate Professor of Clinical Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Vice Chair of Education, AECOM Residency Program Director Co- Director, Traumatic Brain Injury Program Burke Rehabilitation Hospital

Dr. Joe Verghese

Professor of Neurology & Medicine Chief, Integrated Divisions of Cognitive & Motor Aging (Neurology) and Geriatrics (Medicine), Murray D Gross Memorial Faculty Scholar in Gerontology, Director, Montefiore - Einstein Center for The Aging Brain, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Monsoon Summit 2017 Photos

Monsoon Summit 2019 Photos

Contact Us

CONFERENCE SECRETARIATE:

KAN Office IMA House,
Behind Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium
Palarivattom P.O., Cochin 682 025.

Ph : +91-484-2344350

Email : kankerala2011@gmail.com

Professional Conference Organisers


MARUNDESHWARA ENTERPRISES
A2, Shanthi Apartments, 18 TTK 1st Cross
Street, Alwarpet, Chennai - 600018

Ph : 044-24353079, 24328152, 24357194.

Email : monsoonsummit2021@gmail.com / info@marundeshwara.com